I absolutely HATE sharing my weight-loss journey.

I was thinking about why I absolutely HATE sharing my weight-loss story with people. But no,no,no, not you, please keep on reading my good anonymous friends. If I didn’t want anyone to know I wouldn’t write it. I am talking about people I know personally.

During my newest and hopefully last weight-loss journey I am taking a new approach: it’s called “Workout and Shut your mouth”, but not only shutting it not to shove unnecessary foods in it (that too) 🙊but to not say a word about it. I say new because all my previous efforts had involved a whole lot of calorie counting and limiting but never combined with physical activity, and I gave all information to my family and friends about every single ounce I dropped and all the hard work involved in my process. All to no avail.

Why don’t I like sharing my experience with anybody I know? (friend or family member). Not because I don’t think they don’t wish me well nor love me ( I know they do) but because this is for me and I do not enjoy sharing my biggest struggle and weakness with people who clearly have not understood before and seemingly won’t understand now. This is not my first time around and I have proven myself that whenever people get the information that I am “dieting” they immediately used their self-appointed right to give their opinion and/or start asking me if I’m allowed to eat something, if I have stuck to my exercise routine that day or when they see something in my mouth being chewed, that is the cue for them to ask wether or not it is conducive to my goal to eat this or that. Those things are rather discouraging for me and don’t help me further. On top of it all I seem to be surrounded by people who have never really struggled with this and naturally thin people trying to give me advice is not my idea of motivation and makes me eventually go back to square one.
(Please note I said naturally thin people and am not talking about people who have struggled with this experience and are now thin, as I believe those could understand)

This time I’ve kept my mouth shut and by all means have even resorted to “lying” to get out of some situations which otherwise would have meant that I am in some sort of weight-loss quest. When people know I just don’t seem to find the right balance between being open about it and successful at it.

This is the reason why I like my Fitbit friends so much, I don’t even know where they find themselves in this big world, still they are so motivating to me without even knowing it. Then there are my favorite: weight loss bloggers: these are the people who I really like to share my story with because these people understand what I’m going through, we are battling with the same.

Because let’s be honest if you’re anything like me and you’re struggling with weight loss how many times can you hear the words “it’s about what you put in your body versus what you burn” or “you have to be more active” “change what you’re doing” or “it is so easy, simple mathematics just eat less” and the worse “you must have a slow metabolism that is the way you are meant to look”. We all know that we are not here because we want to.

So for now I’ll continue writing about it and just look forward to the day the people who know me and love me approach me and (after skipping all the ugly middle part) tell me that I look great! I really can’t wait.

Who feels this way? Or do you find it better to share?

One thought on “I absolutely HATE sharing my weight-loss journey.”

Leave a comment